Assocjazzjoni Sport Muturi u Karozzi is to organize on Saturday the ninth and final event of the Motocross National Championship 2017/2018.

The program starts at 4.00pm and finishes at about sunset at the ASMK Sports Complex in Ta’ Qali.

An overview of the classification of the Honda Motocross National Championship in Class A 2017/2018 we see that this championship is already won.

For the first time young Kyle Camilleri on his KTM has enough points in this tournament where he cannot be beaten in the next Final race so he already won this Champion title.

Kyle won six races from eight available and has already currently won a total of 368 points. Kyle is followed in 2nd place by his brother Clayton Camilleri also on a KTM with 272 points. Third place holder is Mark Mamo with 242 points riding a Yamaha motorcycle.

In the Class B Motocross Bernard Sammut on Beta is leading the result chart with 277 points and followed by young Michael Sant who won 229 points on his Husqvarna motorcycle. Third place rider James Zahra rides a Sherco and won 200 points.

In the Class for Veterans (Over 40 Class) Paul Deguara on a KTM motorcycle sealed his championship title in this class with 378 points. Jethro Sant with 291 points on a Yamaha follows Deguara in 2nd place. Third place is won by Andrew Cassar on a KTM with 224 points. Only one race is left from this Motocross Championship.

Meanwhile on Saturday 9th June the Association organized the first Autocross night event of this season where 16 cars participated in the tenth event of the ASMK National Championship 2017/2018.

The 16 competitors were divided into two classes one for the Modified cars and the other for the Standard cars.

Andrew Pisani on a Vauxhall Nova dominated and won the Class A for his 2nd time. Pisani is followed by Vince Farrugia on a Volkswagen Polo. Both Pisani and Farrugia were followed by Karl Micallef on a Ford Fiesta and the Fiat Punto of Noel Zammit who closed the day in third and fourth place respectively.

The fifth and sixth places were won by Terence Azzopardi on an Opel Corsa and Peugeot 106 of Jean Paul Grech. This was a very close and fast race between all the six cars from start to finish.

In the Modified Class B Ryan Sciclnua on a Ford Fiesta won this class while Melo Zammit followed on his Opel Corsa. Scicluna and Zammit were followed by Jonathan Camilleri on his Opel Corsa and the Vauxhall Nova of Keith Borg.

Camilleri and Borg finished in third and fourth places respectively. Jonathan Vella on a Ford Fiesta and the Peugeot 205 of Vassallo Brandon Lee entered in fifth and sixth places.

In the Standard Class Nicovich Chircop on his Peugeot 106 won this class followed by Guzi Pace on a Ford Fiesta whilst third place finisher is Deane Farrugia on his Citroen AX. Robert Giordimaina on an Opel Corsa was suspended and Black Flagged from the race after an anti-sports action on Farrugia.

The ASMK Administration would like to notify that this unsporty action will be raised before the Executive Committee to access what happened between Farrugia and Giordimaina during and following this Race Final.

Photo by Mario Micallef
Share |

Navigate through the articles
Sunday, January 20, 2019
Search our Site Advertising on MaltaSport