Local Sport > Motor Sport > MALTA MOTORSPORT AWARDS 2017


Tonio Cini, president of the Malta Motorsport Federation announced that the Malta Motorsport Awards 2017 awards ceremony will be organised on Friday 10th March.

The third edition ceremony will see local champions, officials, teams, and distinguished guests gather together to receive their recognition by the National Sporting Authority.

In total there will be 15 recognitions a special award for a Woman in Motorsport and for the first time the MMF Hall of Fame Lifetime Recognition Award to that person who was voted by all member clubs and associations.

The following are the nominees received from the National Recognition by their respective clubs members of the Malta Motorsport Federation, All Wheel Drive Club nominated Neville Ciantar and Alan Zahra two elite drivers that represented Malta overseas several times, Island Car Club nominated Ruben Hili and William England two officials that are helping the club not only in difficult moments of the local motorsport history but also to make huge leap forward.

Karting Club Malta nominated Nicky Gauci and Gianluca Dingli two kart drivers that besides taking their sport extremely seriously participated overseas several times.

Old Motors Club nominated Charles Sammut and Konrad Grech, two ex-committee members that served on the committee for several years in various positions. Malta Classic nominated Joseph Gerada and Carmel Vella two drivers that took part in all editions of the prestigious event while the Malta Drag Racing Association nominated Motorcycle racer Glenn Borg and the Maltese Top Fuel Dragster racer Duncan Micallef.

The Malta Drifting Association nominated its President George Muscat and their current champion Christian Borg. Last and not least Porsche Club Malta nominated Hubert Camilleri the 12-time winner of the hill climb championship in Malta that although today he retired from Hill Climb racing his fans saw him once again racing his 911 at Malta Classic last October.

Tonio Cini, MMF President ended his speech by announcing that the Malta Motorsport Federation is honoured that Anita Makela the current FIA European Drag Racing Champion is the guest of honour for the awards ceremony adding that this will that for the Motors Inc Malta Motorsport Awards we will have the top two fastest drivers in Europe.

Hon. Chris Agius, Hon. David Agius and other personalities will be joining to celebrate the night of recognitions while Maxime Pace, a finalist for the Malta Eurovision Song Contest, will be entertaining the guests during the dinner.

Limited number of tickets will be available as from Monday 6th February 2017 which can be booked on [email protected]

Message from Hon. Chris Agius, Parliamentary Secretary for Research, Innovation, Youth and Sport

Parliamentary Secretary for Research, Innovation, Youth and Sport Chris Agius praised the work carried out by the Malta Motorsport Federation, which amongst others in the past year, organised a conference attended by Giancarlo Marotta a FIA / ACI Race Director. Additionally is constantly training its members to be prepared to meet such magnitude events.

The Federation, through its representatives, worked closely with the Parliamentary Secretariat to prepare a report on the possibility of building a race track in Malta.

This report was essential to prepare the Expression of Interest eventually released and caught the interest of five bidders. This led to a study on all sites proposed by these bidders and in the coming weeks the Government will be issuing a Request for Proposal for the construction of the race track.

Hon. Agius congratulated all those nominated for an award, and the federation for organizing another memorable event.

Share |

Navigate through the articles
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Search our Site Advertising on MaltaSport